Antibacterial Resistance Leadership Group (ARIG)

Investigator: Henry Chambers, MD
Sponsor: Duke University

Location(s): United States


The ARLG is facilitated by the Duke Clinical Research Institute (DCRI) and works under the centralized leadership of an executive committee and two Principal Investigators (PIs). One PI, Dr. Vance Fowler, Duke University, focuses primarily on operations and the other, Dr. Henry 'Chip' Chambers, UCSF, focuses largely on the scientific agenda. The organizational structure features internationally recognized leaders in the field appointed to Scientific Subcommittees devoted to four priority areas: Gram-negative bacterial Infections, Antimicrobial Stewardship and Infection Prevention, Gram-positive bacterial Infections, and Diagnostics and Devices; to three Special Emphasis Panels (SEPs) (Special Populations, Pediatrics, and Pharmacokinetics); and to a Mentoring Core. Operationally, the ARLG has three separate component centers, the Leadership and Operations Center (LOC) housed mainly at the DCRI and coordinated by Dr Heather Cross, ARLG Program Leader; the Statistics and Data Management Center (SDMC) consisting of members from both Harvard University and Duke University under the guidance of SDMC Director Dr Scott Evans and the Laboratory Center consisting of members from UMDNJ/Rutgers, Case Western, Duke University and a consortium of laboratories across the United States, led by Dr Barry Kreiswirth, UMDNJ/Rutgers and Dr Robert Bonomo, Case Western Reserve University. This research structure has a unique set of scientific and operational assets that allows the leaders to design, prioritize, implement, and manage an integrated research agenda that focuses on reducing AR.